The Cup's History

The Cup's History

Cup History
The SUI 072 sailing towards another victory at the World Open 2014 on Lake Garda.

Team «Zebrabox» - A new star in the Esse-Sky

The first inofficial events of the Esse 850 IC Cup took place in 2006, when the conceptioner of the yacht, Josef Schuchter, organized the first couple of exclusive Esse 850 regattas. One year later, the Cup came down to its first total year ranking which was won by Oscar Paulich, the early dominator of the Esse 850 scene. It was also the year of the first European Open at Malcesine on Lake Garda. This event emerged as the most popular regatta of the series and has therefore been held annually ever since.

In 2008, the number of the Esse 850 IC Cup's participants almost doubled already. Taken away by the trio of Fuchs, Perucchi & Turchett, it was the last time the Cup could not be won by the indisputable benchmark of the Esse 850 scene for the next six years to come. Thus, from 2009 until 2014, the sixfold winner of the Esse 850 IC Cup, team «Ottocinque» with Alain Marchand, remained unbeaten. A series that is, for example, only two victories short of the one that «Wild Oats» holds for the legendary Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.

However, the game has changed in 2015. Team «Ottocinque» already had one hand on the trophy before the last event of the year when the Swiss Championship in Romanshorn turned out to become a turning point in the history of the Esse 850 IC Cup. Team «Zebrabox» with Paul-Ambroise Sevestre had been lurking close behind all season, then won the Swiss Championship through an exciting final spurt and hence claimed the victory of the Esse 850 IC Cup 2015.

Will team «Zebrabox» be able to defend their title in 2016? Find out and follow the action on!

keep in touch with the class

Keep close to the Esse 850 International Class and follow us on Facebook and YouTube.
Thank you very much for sharing!